146 of the Act provided for the admission into the Union of the Crown colonies of Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland on the Atlantic and the united (1866) island and mainland colony of British Columbia on the Pacific, and also of the vast expanse of Hudson's Bay Company territory in the North West known as "Rupert's Land and the North-Western Territory". Following the negotiation of an agreement on terms comprising the Company's surrender of its authority and territories to the Crown (which was to transfer them at once to Canada) and the retention of one twentieth of the land of the fertile belt (the southern territories) with designated blocks of land around its trading posts and a Canadian cash payment of £300,000, the new nation of Canada was ready to expand westward with considerable momentum across the Continent to the Pacific.

The acquisition by Canada of Rupert's Land and the North-Western Territory enabled the Red River settlement, after a few months of disturbance, to receive limited provincial establishment under the name of "Manitoba" in 1870; provided the Federal Government with the public lands needed to help subsidize a transcontinental railway linking the Pacific with the Canadian East, thereby fulfilling the pledge to British Columbia to begin the Canadian Pacific Railway within two years and to complete it within ten years of the date of union, July 20, 1871; and laid, through the provision of millions of acres of public lands, the land and economic bases for the Federal Government's adoption of a freehomestead policy for the Canadian prairies that, in conjunction with the completion of the Canadian Pacific Railway and the launching of other railway lines, brought wave after wave of settlers into the Northwest Territories in such numbers as to justify the creation of the two Provinces of Saskatchewan and Alberta in 1905 out of the portion of the Northwest Territories south of the 60th parallel of north latitude. Although provision for their entry was included in the British North America Act, 1867, the Province of Prince Edward Island held back from the Union until 1873 and Newfoundland became Canada's tenth province on Mar. 31, 1949.

The Constitution of Canada, which had a corporate beginning in 1867, combines, in a set of rules determining the creation and operation of the machinery or institutions of government, the Cabinet system of responsible government (based on an inheritance from Britain) with a Canadian adaptation of federalism (as then practised in the United States for eighty years). A written document, the British North America Act of 1867, contains a substantial portion of Canada's Constitution and this Act, with its various amendments,\* is popularly held to be the Canadian Constitution. There is, however, another and perhaps more important part which appears, through the evolutionary processes of historical growth, in various guises including well-established usages and conventions found in the unwritten provisions of the Constitution.

Thus, the British North America Act is not a comprehensive constitutional document presenting an exhaustive statement of fundamental laws and rules by which Canada is governed. The Constitution of Canada in its broadest sense includes other British statutes (such as the Statute of Westminster, 1931) and Orders in Council (notably those admitting various provinces and territories to the federation), statutes of the Parliament of Canada relating to such matters as the succession to the Throne, the Royal Style and Titles, the Governor General, the Senate, the House of Commons, the creation of courts, the

<sup>\*</sup> See A Consolidation of The British North America Acts 1867 to 1930, consolidated by Elmer A. Driedger as of Jan. 1, 1964. Queen's Printer, Ottawa. 75 cents (Catalogue No. YXI—164). A further amendment was made in 1964 respecting old age pensions (see p. 79).